May 29, 2013

A group of K-12 educators, administrators and support personnel are among the winners of the 2013 Marbury Technology Innovation Award.


The award, sponsored by the Alabama State Department of Education, honors Chiquita Marbury's invaluable years of service as a technology innovator in Alabama by recognizing educators who are exemplary models of technology teachers and leaders.


Transforming learning one child at a time was Marbury’s daily pursuit. After 10 years, this passion is continued through the Marbury Technology Award program. The winners who reflect the Marbury standard of excellence and who continue to be inspired by her dedication and commitment to education are:


Elementary Teacher

  • Davina Mann, Owens Cross Roads School, Madison County Schools

Middle School Teacher

  • Molly Bates, Russellville Middle School, Russellville City Schools

High School Teacher

  • Keith Fulmer, Hoover High School, Hoover City Schools

 School Administrator

  • Tricia Culpepper, Cullman City Primary School, Cullman City Schools

District Technology Coordinator

  • Debbie Rice, Auburn City Schools

Superintendent/Central Office Staff

  • David Crouse, Roanoke City Schools

Each of the award winners will receive a trophy of recognition at the 2013 Alabama Educational Technology Conference (AETC) at the Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex (BJCC) in Birmingham, Ala. The awards ceremony will take place during the opening session at 9 a.m. on Wednesday, June 12, 2013.


Although only the winners will be recognized during AETC, the following educators were 2013 Marbury semifinalists:

  • Stephane Bolton, Harlan Elementary School, Florence City Schools
  • Shannon Hill, Lincoln Elementary School, Talladega County Schools
  • Linda Bean, Cullman Middle School, Cullman City Schools
  • Allison Papaleo, Oak Hill School, Tuscaloosa City Schools
  • Blake Busbin, Auburn High School, Auburn City Schools
  • Julie Powell, Elmore County High School, Elmore County Schools
  • Teresa Davis, Morris Slingluff Elementary School, Dothan City Schools
  • Brooke Morgan, Munford Elementary School, Talladega County Schools
  • Nathan Anderson, Cullman City Schools
  • Michele White, Mobile County Schools
  • Jan Harris, Cullman City Schools
  • Karen Jensen, Madison County Schools

The finalists were chosen from a pool of nominations from fellow Alabama educators based upon innovation and creativity; impact on teaching and learning; leadership; teamwork and scholarship.